Meet Our Senior Pastor
Pastor Andrea Cain

The light of my life is faith and family. I love exploring Arizona with my husband, Brian, who is also a pastor. We treasure our children, Nicole, Evan, and Olivia and our grandsons, Remington and Xander.

I received a B.A. in Organizational Communication from the University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point and earned a Master of Divinity at Wartburg Theological Seminary in Dubuque, Iowa.

I love helping people build faithful relationships with Jesus and with each other in community. It gives me joy to join in living out faith in daily life and discovering our gifts to love and serve all people.

I enjoy hiking, biking, reading historical fiction, and cooking dinner with my family followed by relaxing evenings on the patio!

Fun fact: When I lived in Green Bay, I met and chatted with Green Bay Packers' Quarterback Aaron Rodgers on two occasions; at a perfume counter at the mall and at Starbucks!

Meet Our Associate Pastor
Pastor Thaddeus Book

I joined Desert Cross as Associate Pastor in January of 2021. I come from a family of farmers in Northern Illinois. I graduated from Valparaiso University in 2005 and then enrolled at Trinity Lutheran Seminary in Columbus, Ohio where I received my Master of Divinity in 2009. My first call was as Associate Pastor at Messiah Lutheran Church in Reynoldsburg, Ohio for five years, and then I served at St. Matthew's Lutheran Church in Chester Springs, Pennsylvania for six years. My wife, Laura, and I have two children, Lincoln and Everett.

I root for the Green Bay Packers in the winter and the Chicago Cubs in the summer.  I like to read novels, listen to podcasts, and hike with my family in my spare time. I am passionate about creating community in the midst of an ever-fragmented culture.

Fun fact: Thanks to my fifth-grade music teacher, I can name all 50 states in alphabetical order in about 15 seconds.



Meet Our Team

Doug Bjotvedt - Director of Operations & Property
480-730-8600 ext. 103

Dawn Collins - Office Manager

Daniel Decker - Director of Worship & Music, Tempe
480-730-8600 ext. 108

Chad Diegle - Director of Youth Ministries
480-730-8600 ext. 114

Shannon Fossett - Director of Children's Ministries
480-730-8600 ext. 115

Maegan Jennett - Communication Coordinator

Michael Lottes - Director of Worship & Music, Gilbert
480-730-8600 ext. 101

Denise McClellan - Director of Adult Ministries
480-730-8600 ext. 116

Natalie Smith - Children's Ministry Assistant

Christine Soll - Worship Associate

Denise Viker, RN - Parish Nurse
480-730-8600 ext. 122

Meet Our Council

The church council meets the third Monday of every month. If you have a question or concern and you are unable to speak with one of the representatives in person or over the phone, you can contact the council via email at 

Currently serving on our Church Council:
Marla Barnard - Member At Large, Tempe
Stan Fernandes
- Past President
Patrick Jennett - Member At Large, Gilbert
Bill Kalaf - Member At Large, Tempe
Anna Pelley - Member At Large, Tempe
Adam Pfau - Member At Large, Gilbert
Anna Radermacher - Secretary
Tom Rewolinski - Vice President
Vince Sciame - Treasurer
Glenn Tischaefer - President

Monthly Church Council Reports are available here.

Meet Our Chamber

The Gilbert chamber meets the second Tuesday of every month. If you have a question or concern, please contact one of the representatives.

Currently serving on our Chamber:
Kelly Kaiser Borning - Communications
Deb Christiansen
 - Hospitality
Deb Gabrielson - Mission & Outreach
Glen Gabrielson - Finance & Stewardship
Patrick Jennett - Church Council Member
Adam Pfau - Church Council Member
Rosemary Schlechty - Education
Joe Weingartz - Facilities
Nancy Zine - Worship

Gilbert Chamber Minutes available here.